Purple Citrus & Sweet Perfume: 1

My first attempt from Purple Citrus & Sweet Perfume by Silvena Rowe: Pomegranate Glazed Kebabs with Spiced Pomegranate Chutney, became more of a “cut & paste” creation rather than a carefully followed recipe.  In fact, the whole kebab notion went out the window when I decided to slow cook the meat in my tagine. Talk about deviation!

And I confess… I didn’t make the chutney. BUT I did combine part of the chutney recipe into the stewing sauce for the meat.

Silvena’s original calls for marinated, quickly cooked kebabs, glazed with pomegranate sauce, served with a fresh and spicy, uncooked citrus chutney.  My original became a marinated, slow cooked lamb dish with a sticky, spicy pomegranate sauce.

It ended up looking like this:

Combine:

4 garlic cloves, crushed

200ml pomegranate juice (which I didn’t have so I watered down apple juice)

3 Tbsp pomegranate molasses

4 juniper berries, crushed

10 peppercorns (ideally pink… I used black)

1 teaspoon Ras-el-Hanout

Marinade 500-800g lamb fillet, cut into 2.5cm cubes in the above mixture for at least 2 hrs (over night would be perfect). When ready, brown meat in the base of a tagine over high heat with 2 Tablespoons of oil, for a few minutes till seared, reserving the marinade for later.

Add to the marinade:

The juice of 1 lemon

1 tsp of lemon rind

1 Tbsp honey

2 tsp freshly grated orange rind

1 dried red chilli, finely cut

Pour over the meat. Throw in a handful of coarsely chopped onion. Pour over enough boiling water to cover the meat, Seal with the tagine lid and simmer on low for 1.5 hrs.

Then add:

2 potatoes, peeled and cubed

Taste for seasoning, add further boiling water till the potatoes are almost submerged. Seal tagine and cook a further 30 minutes, until potatoes are tender and meat falling apart with a nice thick sauce.

I ate this with couscous, mixed through cucumber and mint, with a dollop of natural yogurt on the side.  The stand out flavour for me came from the juniper berries. Having never tasted them before, I loved how their smell made me think of Gin and Tonic in bite sized form. They have an amazing herbal/medicinal undertone, very difficult to describe, but perfect for lamb. I’ll be keeping my packet of juniper berries very carefully for next time!

Leave a Reply

